FEA Light Equipment and Tableware Awards: Alliance’s ‘proud moment’

LET Forum announces annual awards

LET Forum, Whittlebury Hall, 16-17 May 2023

“Incredible.”  That’s how Steve Goodliff, chair of FEA’s Light Equipment and Tableware (LET) Group, described Alliance‘s achievement in winning the LET Distributor Cup for the sixth year in a row.

The Cup was one of three awards announced at the annual LET Forum dinner, held at Whittlebury Hall on 16 May 2023.  It recognises the distributor company that has done the most to support the promotion of light equipment and tableware during the past year.  Three companies made the shortlist, Alliance, Lockhart Catering Equipment and United UK.  “No company has ever won the Cup six times in a row,” Goodliff said.  “It’s a huge achievement.”

Sarah Overton, general manager of Alliance West Midlands, accepted the award for the company.   “This is a proud moment for the business,” she said.  “It’s a privilege to accept the award on behalf of the whole of Alliance.”

The second award, Sales Professional of the Year, is voted for by the participating supplier companies.  This award celebrates the sales professional who has contributed most to the sales of utensils and smallwares.  Voters considered a variety of factors, from one-off sales or contract wins to adding value to a business by helping a customer identify key products for their operation.  The winner was Corey Mayes of London Bar and Kitchen, just ahead of runner up Donna Kennett from Hugh Jordan.  As well as the prestigious trophy, Corey receives a £500 cash prize and a free place on FEA’s Certified Food Service Professional (CFSP) training course.

The third award recipient of the night is, said Goodliff, “A tireless supporter of the foodservice equipment industry, and one of its most respected and liked figures.”  The FEA Donald Bird Award is given for an outstanding lifetime contribution to the light equipment and tableware sector and this year it went to Keith Warren, the former chief executive of FEA, who had been at the association’s helm for 21 years.  Unfortunately he couldn’t attend the event, but sent a video message and was clearly deeply moved to pick up the award.